Skip to Main Content
NYS Thruway Authority Home

For immediate release: June 11, 2013
Contact: William Sweitzer, (518) 471-5300

Forestburgh in Sullivan County First Town to Join Retail Sales Program

The New York State Thruway announced today that Forestburgh in Sullivan County will now be the first town to sell prepaid E-ZPass On-The-Go tags as a way of increasing convenience for Thruway travelers.

“We are excited to expand the E-ZPass On-the-Go program to towns across New York State,” said Thruway Authority Executive Director Thomas J. Madison, Jr. “Our goal is to ensure that Thruway customers can obtain E-ZPass tags at as many convenient locations as possible to save them time and money.”

“We are so pleased to partner with the Thruway Authority and offer a convenient way for our residents to save money with E-ZPass,” said Forestburgh Town Clerk Joanne Nagoda.

Forestburgh is the first town office to retail E-ZPass tags as part of the Thruway’s E-ZPass On-the-Go Program. Residents can purchase tags for $25 at Forestburgh Town Hall, located at 332 King Road.

 “The E-ZPass system saves time and gas. While Forestburgh is the first in the area, I am sure that many other towns and villages will also make this service available to their residents,” State Senator John Bonacic said.

“Undoubtedly, the public will reap the benefits of this kind of cooperation between the State and municipalities.  It saves money while encouraging efficiency and convenience. As a Forestburgh resident, I am thrilled we are the first town to offer E-ZPass On-the-Go. I hope that many more municipalities will follow suit,” said Assemblywoman Aileen Gunther.

E-ZPass On-the-Go allows qualified businesses and municipal offices to sell pre-paid E-ZPass tags. The tags have a $25 value and are active upon purchase. The first $15 is immediately available for toll usage, while the remaining $10 becomes available once the tag is registered. These tags are currently available in grocery stores, convenience stores, gas stations and certain county clerk offices, among other locations.

E-ZPass provides a savings of five percent on all Thruway tolls and is accepted in 15 states: Delaware, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Virginia, and West Virginia.


For more information about E-ZPass and the On-the-Go program, visit Leaving NYS Thruway Authority's Website .

For more information about services provided by the Office of the Forestburgh Town Clerk contact:  Joanne Nagoda at (845) 794-0611 ext. 21 or visit: Leaving NYS Thruway Authority's Website .

| Google Translate Disclaimer