

200 Southern Boulevard

P.O. Box 189 Albany, New York 12201-0189

SPECIAL HAULING PERMIT PROGRAM GUIDELINES

A synopsis of the New York State Thruway Authority Special Hauling Permit (Permit) Program Guidelines is provided below. A Permit is required for vehicles greater than: 80,000 lbs. in weight, 8'6" in width, 65'0" in length and carrying loads with an overhang of 4'0" or greater. Height requirements are detailed on page 2. Straight-trucks over 40'0" and buses and self-propelled vehicles over 45'0" in length also require a Permit.

Note: These guidelines *do not* supersede U.S. Code of Federal Regulations Title 49 or the regulations in the New York State Escort Manual, but are in addition to those regulations and allowed under the New York State Thruway Authority Rules and Regulations. These manuals should be consulted to ensure compliance. Special requirements for travel on highways under the jurisdiction of the New York State Thruway Authority may be different than the guidelines provided below based on engineering judgment, highway geometry, location of movement and size/weight of vehicle load.

Permits and Permit numbers are not assigned by telephone. All single use Permits must be ordered through the Highway Oversize/Overweight Credentialing System (HOOCS). Commercial users must have an account with One-Stop Credentialing and Registration (OSCAR) to apply for a Permit through HOOCS. Non-commercial users must have a NY.gov ID account. Permittee must have Permit in possession before traveling on the Thruway System. The Permit is valid for a trip in one direction, with interruptions not to exceed 24 hours.

The New York State Thruway Authority honors New York State Department of Transportation (NYSDOT) issued Divisible Load Permits. However, NYSDOT issued annual and radius permits require a single-use New York State Thruway Authority issued Special Hauling Permit to travel on the Thruway System.

In accordance with the enactment of New York State Vehicle and Traffic Law, Article 21C, effective January 1, 1996, all New York State certified escorts accompanying over-dimensional loads must be operated by a driver holding a valid New York State Escort Driver Certificate. Detailed operating instructions for over-dimensional load escorts are included in the New York State Escort Manual.

Requirements and locations for flags, lights and warning signs on over-dimensional loads must conform to the same requirements set forth by NYSDOT under Part 154, Title 17, of the New York State Code of Rules and Regulations.

Travel Restrictions

New York State Thruway Authority issued Permit holders with legal dimension vehicles can travel unrestricted 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, so long as vehicle weight does not exceed 100,000 lbs. Permits for vehicles exceeding legal dimensions and/or 100,000 lbs. *do not* allow for travel on Saturdays, Sundays or on the following holidays: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Travel is also prohibited after 12:00 P.M. (noon) the day preceding Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and Christmas. Exceptions exclude Explosives Carriers with a valid New York State Thruway Authority Annual Explosive Permit. Vehicles with speed restrictions cannot travel between 7:00 A.M. to 9:00 A.M. and 4:00 P.M. to 6:00 P.M.

New York State Police Requirements

All vehicles exceeding 200,000 lbs. in weight, 16'0" in width or 200'0" in length must be inspected by New York State Police. New York State Police escorts are required if a vehicle (or vehicle load):

- is 200'0" in length or greater;
- must cross the center line of a bridge; or
- is required to cross bridges at 5 mph.

If a New York State Police escort is required, at least 48 hours' notice must be provided in advance of travel.

Basic Fee for Over-Dimensional Vehicles Weighing 80,000 lbs. or Less

- On the Thruway System north of Woodbury (I-87 and I-90) and Niagara Section (I-190): \$21.00
- On the Thruway System south of Woodbury (I-87), Cross Westchester Expressway (I-287) and New England Section (I-95): \$3.00
- Travel encompassing the entirety of the Thruway System: \$21.00

Overweight Fee (in Addition to Basic Fee)

If vehicle weight is 80,001 lbs. or greater, the applicable calculation can be used to determine an approximate Overweight Fee:

80,001 – 100,000 lbs.	tons overweight x \$.03 per ton x	_ miles + Basic Fee = Total Overweight Fee
100,001 – 110,000 lbs.	tons overweight x \$.05 per ton x	_ miles + Basic Fee = Total Overweight Fee
110,001 lbs. or greater	tons overweight x \$.08 per ton x	_ miles + Basic Fee = Total Overweight Fee

Requirements and Restrictions Based on Size

WIDTH Requirements

NOTE: Maximum vehicle width on Thruway Mainline and the Governor Mario M. Cuomo Bridge is 12'6".

8'7" to 12'0"

- Permit required.
- No nighttime restrictions.
- 18"X18" red or orange fluorescent flags on staffs at all corners at the extremities of the load or trailer.
- Warning sign attached to the front and rear of vehicle.
- If over 10'0" wide, vehicle must have valid E-ZPass tag.
- All headlights and other external lights shall be turned on.
- Power unit to have a minimum of one amber light located on top of vehicle and visible in a 360 degree radius.

12'1" to 12'6"

In addition to the above:

- Daylight travel only.
- Rear New York State certified escort vehicle required. Escort vehicle shall display warning signs and operational bar light on roof. Headlights and other external lights shall be turned on.

12'7" to 13'0"

In addition to the above:

 Travel allowed from Exit 15 (Suffern) to Exit 1 (Yonkers) on I-87 excluding the Governor Mario M. Cuomo Bridge.

13'1" to 14'0"

In addition to the above:

Travel allowed on Cross Westchester Expressway Section (I-287), New England Section (I-95) and between Exit B3 (Canaan) and the Massachusetts State line on I-90 only.

14'1" or greater

In addition to the above:

Travel allowed from Exit 15 to Exit 15A (I-87) and Exit 61 to the Pennsylvania State line only.

LENGTH

Requirements

65'1" to 79'11"

- Permit required.
- No nighttime restrictions.
- 18"X18" red or orange fluorescent flags on staffs on overhang.
- Warning sign attached to the front and rear of vehicle.
- All headlights and other external lights shall be turned on.

80'0" to 99'11"

In addition to the above:

- Daylight travel only.
- Rear New York State certified escort vehicle required. Escort vehicle shall display warning signs and operational bar light on roof.

100'0" to 199'11"

In addition to the above:

• Front New York State certified escort vehicle also required. Escort vehicle shall display warning signs and operational bar light on roof.

200'0" or greater

In addition to the above:

Requires a New York State Police escort.

TAP-623 (05/2021)

HEIGHT

Requirements

13'6"

- Warning sign attached to the front and rear of vehicle.
- All headlights and other external lights shall be turned on.
- Power unit to have a minimum of one amber light located on top of vehicle and visible in a 360 degree radius.

13'7" to 16'

In addition to the above:

- Permit required.
- Travel allowed from Pennsylvania State line to Shortman Road.

16'1" or greater

In addition to the above:

 Travel allowed from Exit 15 to Exit 15A (I-87) and from Exit 61 to the Pennsylvania State line only.

OVERHANG

Requirements

4'0" to 9'11"

- Permit required.
- No nighttime restrictions.
- 18"X18" red or orange fluorescent flags on staff on end of load.

10'0" to 15'0"

In addition to the above:

- Daylight travel only.
- Rear overhang must not exceed 1/3 length of load; 2/3 of load length must rest upon truck or trailer bed.
- Rear New York State certified escort vehicle required. Escort vehicle shall display warning signs and operational bar light on roof. Headlights and other external lights shall be turned on.
- Front New York State certified escort vehicle required only when front overhang is greater than 10'0" but not exceeding 15'0".