

2025-2026 COMMERCIAL ROAD SERVICE APPLICATION/PERMIT

INSTRUCTIONS:

- Prior to completing Sections I and II, review Notice to Permit Holder and Conditions of a Commercial Road Service Permit.
- A check or money order in the amount of \$100.00 made payable to the "New York State Thruway Authority" (this fee is non-refundable) is required to be submitted with each Application.
- Mail your Application and payment to the address listed above for consideration. A separate Application is required for each service vehicle.
- Evidence of required insurance must be maintained on file with the New York State Thruway Authority (Authority) for the duration of the Permit and any revisions to such must be resubmitted. The following insurance information including a copy of your application is required to be electronically submitted directly to the Insurance Compliance Unit at the time of application to InsuranceCompliance@thruway.ny.gov, the Application will not be processed without all documents:
 - a CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE (ACORD 25) which is available from your insurance provider (minimum coverage must include
 - \$1,000,000 Business Auto Liability, \$1,000,000 Garagekeepers Liability, \$100,000 Garagekeepers Legal Liability);
 NYS Workers' Compensation Board certificates of insurance for Workers' Compensation (C-105.2) and Disability Benefits (DB-120.1) as required by law; and
 - a completed SUPPLEMENTAL INSURANCE CERTIFICATE (TA-W51343), available on the above website under the "Commercial" tab.
- Questions pertaining to insurance compliance may be directed to the Insurance Compliance Unit at (518) 436-2896, or InsuranceCompliance@thruway.ny.gov.

NOTE: All permits issued by the Authority are revocable at any time at the Authority's sole discretion and without cause. **An approved Permit does not allow for the solicitation of business on the Thruway System, nor the use of the Authority's name in any advertisement.** The Authority's name, logo or trademark may not be used without permission from the Authority.

Section I	Applicant Information (print or type) New Applicant Returning Applicant								
Company Name					Federal ID No. Phone No.				
							()	-
Address			City			State		Zip Code	
									-
Email Address (Required)				Vehicle Type and Model					
Vehicle Year and	i Make	Vehicle Identification		ion No. (VIN)		License Plate N		lo.	State
Self Service Only - I acknowledge that this permit will be used only for service on vehicles owned by the Applicant company.									

NOTICE TO PERMIT HOLDER

A Commercial Road Service Permit (Permit) for all Thruway System roads is required whenever a **motorized** vehicle (1) enters any section of the Thruway System to make repairs to a disabled commercial vehicle or trailer in excess of 10,000 lbs.; (2) removes a disabled commercial vehicle or trailer in excess of 10,000 lbs.; (2) removes a disabled commercial vehicle or trailer in excess of 10,000 lbs. from any section of the Thruway System; or (3) re-enters the Thruway System after exiting to obtain repair parts for a disabled commercial vehicle or trailer in excess of 10,000 lbs.

The Permit is valid from August 1 to July 31 of the following year and is not prorated for any unused portion thereof or transferable to any other vehicle. Each vehicle responding must bear its own Permit.

The Permit and supporting documents must be retained in the vehicle identified herein, and exhibited upon request of the State Police or Authority personnel. The issued medallion must be affixed as required under the CONDITIONS FOR COMMERCIAL ROAD SERVICE PERMIT MEDALLION PLACEMENT (TA-W68159A). **In addition, the following must be prominently displayed on all vehicles performing service on the Thruway System: Company Name, Company Address, and Company Phone Number.** This Application will be considered a valid Permit once it has been approved by the Office of Traffic Management.

The Permit medallion is the sole property of the Authority and must be removed and/or returned upon demand without the necessity of prior notice or demonstration of cause.

In accepting the Permit, the permittee agrees to: abide by all applicable laws, rules and regulations, including Authority Rules and Regulations; and assume responsibility and liability for any and all damages to persons and/or property resulting from or in any way connected to the operation of the permittee's vehicle or combination of vehicles by permittee, its agents and/or employees, and to indemnify and hold the Authority harmless therefrom.

CONDITIONS OF A COMMERCIAL ROAD SERVICE PERMIT

<u>Traveling the Thruway with a disabled vehicle in tow</u> The combination of the towing and disabled vehicle must be considered safe for travel on the Thruway System by Authority and State Police personnel.

Roadside Servicing

IMPORTANT: Prior to leaving to perform roadside service, the permittee must contact the Thruway Statewide Operations Center (TSOC) at (800) 842-2233 and provide: (1) company name; (2) Permit number; (3) location of disabled vehicle; (4) type of disabled vehicle; (5) estimated time of arrival; and (6) call back phone number. The TSOC dispatcher will provide permittee an event number. This Permit is only valid if the service vehicle will arrive in 90 minutes or less from the time of disablement and the servicing facility is within 100 miles of the disabled vehicle. The service vehicle personnel must either complete repairs and/or have the vehicle removed within four (4) hours of the disablement.

CONDITIONS OF A COMMERCIAL ROAD SERVICE PERMIT CONT.

Company Services are prohibited on I-190 between mileposts 0.0 to 15.2. I-95 and I-287 are designated quick clearance areas, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Company Services are prohibited on I-95. Allowable Company Service on I-287 requires any service vehicle to arrive, on scene, within 30 minutes of the disablement. Failure to do so will result in Company Service being disallowed. All U-turns on the Thruway System are prohibited except when approved and supervised by a member of the State Police or an employee of the Authority. Upon completion, you must notify TSOC that all vehicles are clear and provide them the event number. Allowable services are only permitted from the right shoulder or in a truck parking facility.

Under no circumstances does a Permit allow for towing at accident scenes, for towing or servicing when the vehicle has been deemed to be a hazard to the safe operation of the Thruway System, deemed to be abandoned, for vehicle or cargo recovery activities or for any other such reason as may be deemed by the Authority without the necessity of prior notice or demonstration of cause. Any vehicle deemed a hazard due to accident, location or abandonment may only be serviced by the appropriate Thruway Authorized Garage. Towing of tractortrailer combinations is specifically prohibited on the Thruway System, except when removing a combination unit off Thruway property at the first interchange (exit) or truck parking facility in the same direction of travel as the disablement.

Examples of allowed services under a Commercial Road Service Permit are fuel filter replacement, brake adjustment, tire service, fuel calls, light mechanical repair and/or towing. Tractor swaps may only be performed at Thruway Travel Plazas or parking/rest areas and are not allowed on the mainline, including ramps and interchanges. This, however, does not authorize service where there is interference to normal traffic flow or the occupancy of a traffic lane is necessary (i.e., vehicle disabled is in the lane or over the white shoulder line).

Completion of the CERTIFICATE OF INSURANCE (ACORD 25), SUPPLEMENTAL INSURANCE CERTIFICATE (TA-W51343), and NYS Workers' Compensation (C-105.2) and Disability Benefits (DB-120.1) certificates of insurance are mandatory and must be on file with the Authority prior to the validation of a Permit. The Permit is deemed revoked upon any lapse in insurance coverage and all operations under said Permit must cease without notice. Upon resumption of insurance coverage, a new Permit must be obtained, and proper fee paid, with such additional evidence of insurance as may be deemed appropriate by the Authority to satisfy coverage requirements.

Safety Equipment and Procedures

All permitted commercial road service vehicles must be equipped with working emergency warning lights and flares. Red lights are prohibited. Blue lights may be used in conjunction with required amber lighting on vehicles that have the capacity to push or pull a vehicle in accordance with New York State Vehicle and Traffic law. Reflectors, flares and cones must be placed at the scene of a disabled vehicle in the direction of approaching traffic as follows: one at the disabled vehicle, one at 250 feet and a third at 500 feet from the disabled vehicle. Indicators shall be more numerous and placed at greater distances as weather, road conditions or other circumstances so require. Flares and reflectors must be used during the period from ½ hour before sunset until ½ hour after sunrise, or as conditions require and be visible at a distance of not less than 1,000 feet from the scene of the disabled vehicle. Service vehicle operators are required to wear ANSI Class 3 high visibility safety clothing at all times. If safety requirements are not adhered to, suspension and/or revocation of the permit may result.

NOTE: Any violations of herein stated notices and conditions, or such notices or conditions deemed to be in the best interest of the safety of the Authority's operations, may result in suspension or revocation of the Permit and forfeiture of fees, and the liability for administrative costs by the permittee, without the necessity of prior notice or demonstration of cause.

Section II Authorization

I declare that I,

(print or type name)

, am an owner or agent of the above named company,

and that I have the authority to execute this Application on behalf of said company. In so executing this Application, I declare that the information provided herein, including statements made in accompanying papers, have been examined by me and are true and correct. I understand that omissions or falsifications of statements made on this Application, including statements made in accompanying papers, may be grounds for denial or revocation of any permit without notice or cause. I further understand that all statements made are subject to verification by the Authority or any of its agents. I give my permission for verification of statements made, which may include, but is not limited to, insurance records, motor vehicle records, credit history, equipment inspections, on and off-site procedural reviews and any other such verification as may be deemed necessary by the Authority. I, on behalf of the company, acknowledge and agree to all of these terms and conditions and other provisions contained in this Application/Permit.

Additionally, I hereby certify that the service vehicle described above is legally registered, is and/or will be marked in accordance with the Authority's specifications before permit activity will commence and is equipped with required safety equipment.

I further certify that all service vehicle operators are appropriately licensed to operate the service vehicle described above and that they are aware of the Conditions of a Commercial Road Service Permit and in particular, safety equipment and procedures contained herein.

Signature		Date							
Section III For Authority	Use Only								
Certificate of Insurance on file?	Yes No	Certificate of Insurance approved?	Yes No						
Reviewed by									
	Name		Date						
Permit Approved? Yes	No If "Yes,"	approved by							
Name		Title	Date						
Medallion No. Assigned		Date Issued	Date Expires						